Pastoral Academic Care

School based Pastoral Academic Care (PAC) at O’Connor refers to the care of the whole person. It is based upon the belief in the dignity of the person. Research ( Jacqueline Van Velsen, CEO WISA Wellbeing in Schools Australia) indicates that students with high levels of wellbeing are more likely to achieve high academically and complete school, have better health, and have greater participation in the workforce. Wellbeing is everyone’s business.

O’Connor’s Pastoral Academic Care program is based on this evidence that learning and wellbeing are inextricably linked. Our PAC Program includes coaching, learning conversations and goal setting. The PAC teacher plays a very important role in monitoring and building wellbeing. The Student Diary is based on a strengths based approach. It emphasises the strengths that people have and how they build their strengths in other areas. The key elements of the student diary are: Positive Engagement; Meaning and Purpose; Skills and Achievement; Relationship and Optimism; Strengths and Emotions; and Exercise and Health. These are the key elements needed to strive, thrive and flourish.

Pastoral Academic Care Framework

At O’Connor, each PAC class has two staff allocated. This allows for administration (rolls marked, daily notices etc to be done) to occur while learning conversations occur. PAC runs from 8.50 - 9.10 every day. PAC time is with both PAC teachers and has a focus on Resilience and coaching. Are students set up for the day? Do they have books, device, equipment etc.

Resilience and Connections


Year Leaders and PAC Teachers for 2019

Mr James Russell
Year 12 PAC Leader
Russell Mr James

Year 12 Coordinator – Mr James Russell
PAC Teachers:
Mrs Anne Healey / Mr Mark Harris

Mrs Lilly Moar / Mr Ian Yensch
Mrs Jenny Roff / Ms Regina Menz

Mrs Vicki Channon
Year 11 PAC Leader

Year 11 Coordinator – Mrs Vicki Channon
PAC Teachers:
Mr Jon Hawthorn / Mr Isaac Selvey / Miss Eliza Clarke

Mr Peter Trinh / Mr Simon Fleming
Mr Michael Wooster / Miss Tonya McQuilty
Mr Stephen Chapman / Mrs Janet Price

Mr Mark Fulloon
Year 10 PAC Leader

Year 10 Coordinator – Mr Mark Fulloon
PAC Teachers:
Mr Nick Bolger / Mrs Megan Wooster

Mrs Glenda Lemon / Mr Ian Tonkin
Miss Melanie Sampson / Mrs Elitia Parry
Mrs Cheryl Leggatt / Mr Darryl Harper

Mr Peter McLeish
Year 9 PAC Leaser

Year 9 Coordinator – Mr Peter McLeish
PAC Teachers:
Miss Amanda Bell / Mr Bryan Allerton

Miss Lauren Clarke / Mrs Kath Czinner
Ms Florence Champion de Crespigny / Miss Sarah Watson
Mr Frank Patricks / Mrs Jenny Frazier
Mr Andrew May / Mr Matt Griffin

Mr Llyod Honnery
Year 8 PAC Leader

Year 8 Coordinator – Mr Lloyd Honnery
PAC Teachers:
Miss Camilla Clydsdale / Mrs Lorna Ahern

Miss Melita Roache / Mr Anthony Kelly
Mrs Garry Osborne / Miss Madeleine Davidson
Mr Bradley Powers / Mrs Elizabeth Simpson

Miss Yolanda Kreuzen
Year 7 PAC Leader
Kreuzen Yolanda

Year 7 Coordinator – Miss Yolanda Kreuzen
PAC Teachers:
Mr Daniel Fittler / Mr Mark Honeysett

Mrs Katie Biddle / Mrs Kaylene Osborne
Mr Damian Roff / Miss Brydie Hawthorne
Mrs Cath Deshon / Miss Jessica Armfield
Mrs Mellissa Bell / Miss Lauren Donnelly

Additional information